It’s The End Of The World As We Know It: Rocking The Apocalypse

Tapping your toes through the Apocalypse

Now that 2012 is here, we’re hearing more about theories of the Apocalypse. The Mayan calendar ends 12/21/12 and theorists believe that the world will end on that date, possibly with a cataclysmic event like an asteroid hitting the earth. People have always been fascinated by apocalyptic and dystopian themes, and that fascination reflects in our literature and film.

A well-written explanation of the difference between apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic and dystopian stories

I’m not too worried about whether the world ends in 2012, I’m at peace either way, but I do love a good disaster/apocalyptic/dystopian type movie. Even if it’s less than Oscar-level writing or acting (sometimes MUCH less), if it’s the End or possibly the End, or after the End, I’m in. Zombies are a bonus.

One of my recent favorites is The Book of Eli starring Denzel Washington. The protagonist, Eli, is on a dangerous journey across a post-apocalyptic United States to deliver one of the last books that exist. It could possibly save the human race. Of course bad guys want the book, too, and Eli must protect it at all costs. There’s a lot of violence and some may disagree with the film’s ending message, but the action scenes and cinematography were pretty cool.

"I wonder if there's an app for apocalyptic ninja moves..."

There’s an interesting scene where Eli has somehow been able to charge a thirty-year old iPod so he can listen to Al Green sing ‘How Can You Mend A Broken Heart?’ Whether that would actually be possible is a debate for another blog post, like this one. The scene was poignant nonetheless.

I was thinking about it and when I make it past the Apocalypse, what books would I attempt to protect for future generations? What music would I have loaded on my Apocalypse iPod? Okay, silly questions, but interesting to think about. Could I have a world-ending laptop, too, so I could choose some End of Days movies? Too hard to choose. I’m going to go with the music playlist.

My personal criteria is not whether it’s masterpiece-level music, but will I be able to listen to it over and over for the next thirty years or so. So based on that, and in no particular order, here are my ten songs for the Apocalypse:

  1. Across The Universe -Beatles
  2. You Make Me Feel So Young -Frank Sinatra
  3. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain – Willie Nelson
  4. Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen
  5. Come Away With Me – Norah Jones
  6. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes – Crosby, Stills and Nash
  7. Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington
  8. Blue Skies- Ella Fitzgerald
  9. Let’s Stay Together – Al Green (had to get some Al Green in there)
  10. Eine Kleine Nachtmusik – Mozart

Bonus song: Diamonds and Rust – Joan Baez  The lyrics are pure writer’s gold.

Okay now I’m ready to rock the Apocalypse. Books are much harder to choose, but if I could rig up a Kindle that uses nuclear fallout to charge it, I’d be good to go. Now where did I put that zombie survival guide?

Question: Tell us your top ten must-haves for you to survive the Apocalypse: songs or books or both – it’s your choice!

15 thoughts on “It’s The End Of The World As We Know It: Rocking The Apocalypse

  1. Fluffy Tufts

    Books I could do, but songs I’d find hard to narrow down!

    Apocalypse books:
    1. The Neverending Story
    2 -8. The Harry Potter Books
    9. The Painted Garden
    10. Tom’s Midnight Garden

    Reply
  2. kristin nador Post author

    Good list! Great escape books to keep your mind off the zombies trying to beat down your door. :) I love The Neverending Story. That’s why I went with music, there are SO many great books, I would need a truck! Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply
  3. Judy Stone-Goldman

    I guess I’m going to have to get an i-Pod for the apocalypse! I would take some Iris Dementhe and the Brandenburg Concertos.

    I had to comment on the whole apocalypse theme because last night I was watching the movie “The Road” – very dark post-apocalypse movie based on by Cormac McCarthy. Honestly, I love anything post-apocalypse (usually), but this movie couldn’t hold a candle to the book. Part of the book was the unique language, which contributed to the sense of the world disintegrating. That was absent in the movie.

    I’m definitely going to check out The Book of Eli!

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com
    Personal-Professional Balance Through Writing

    Reply
  4. kristin nador Post author

    I haven’t seen ‘The Road’ yet, I wasn’t sure if it was going to be TOO realistic for me. I loved ‘No Country For Old Men’ but I don’t know how close they kept to the book. I haven’t read anything of Cormac McCarthy but he’s on my list. I was thinking of starting with ‘Blood Meridian’ but maybe I’ll go with ‘The Road’ instead. So many books in the TBR pile! I better start reading before it’s too late! :)

    Reply
    1. Judy Stone-Goldman

      I highly recommend The Road (book), a “maybe” on the movie. The second half of the movie was better than the first (for me) but it doesn’t match the book. Another book-movie combination that I just completed is “Between a Rock and a Hard Place” (book) and “127 Hours” (movie). Not apocalyptic in the traditional sense, but one individual coming up against possible death (true story). Movie surpasses the book.

      Reply
      1. Heather Jenkins

        Oh my…I LOVED the book “Between a Rock and a Hard Place”. It’s a movie now??? Apparently I need to remove the boulder I’ve been living under. (See what happens when you get rid of TV?) Thanks for the update. I will have to venture to the cinema for sure. That book still haunts me.

  5. Heather Jenkins

    First – I love this post AND the movie. Fascinating stuff.
    Kristin you know there is NO way I could narrow it down to ten books. Ten songs is hard enough.
    Here’s my feeble attempt at narrowing down my 11000+ song list to ten…
    1. Arms of a Woman – Amos Lee
    2. Hotel California – Eagles
    3. Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen (I stole it from you…couldn’t help it!)
    4. Moonlight Sonata – Beethoven
    5. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – U2
    6. While My Guitar Gently Weeps – The Beatles
    7. Songbird – Eva Cassidy
    8. Can’t Help Falling in Love – Elvis Presley
    9. Falling Slowly – Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova
    10. Everybody Hurts – R.E.M.

    Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      Good list, Heather and Happy New Year! Do you have your CDL? Maybe we could commandeer an 18 wheeler and drive it across the barren wasteland with a tanker-load of books? Oh, wait, I think that was a movie I saw once. :) Or maybe we could just swap songs while we huddle in the bunker. ;)

      Reply
      1. Heather Jenkins

        I think the first post-apocalyptic stop on our cross-country trek would be Powell’s Books. Just sayin’. THEN we would head to the bunker – an underground library filled with leather sofas and cats – and fill our minds with knowledge and our ears with awesome tunes.

  6. sllynn

    hahaha…always good to have an apocalypse preparedness kit ready!

    My list of songs and books:

    1. The Merlin trilogy by Mary Stewart (these are bound in one volume, so I’m counting it as one, lol!)
    2. The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper (childhood fave)
    3. The Idiot’s Guide to Surviving the Apocalypse (HA!)
    4. Gilligan’s Isle Professor’s DIY book on making batteries out of coconuts or potatoes or any other handy energy device.
    5. The Committments soundtracks
    6. ‘I should have known’ by the Foo Fighters
    7. ‘Breath’ by Breaking Benjamin
    8. ‘Hurt’ by Johnny Cash
    9. The Idiot’s Guide to thievery and looting – how to hotwire cars, siphon gas, pick locks, etc
    10. First aid/medical handbook for the ultimate survivalist.
    ;) I prefer my apocalypse books to be a little more on the practical side, lol!

    Reply
  7. Diana Douglas

    There is one song I would have to have, Joy to the World by Three Dog Night. Also anything by Aerosmith or Vivaldi. My must have books–A Town Like Alice & All Creatures Great and Small.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: For The Love Of… Music: Be A Superstar In Your Own Car | kristin nador writes anywhere

Tell us what you think!

