Sharpen Your Blogging Habits: 14 Actions to Take to Amplify Your Blog’s Voice

What are you doing to amplify your blog's voice?

Today is part 3 in this month’s series on sharpening your blogging habits. Have you been following along? If not, you can catch up here:

Part 1- Sharpen Your Blogging Habits: 4 Ways To Define Your Audience

Part 2- Sharpen Your Blogging Habits: 7 Keys to Blogging on a Consistent Basis

I love a summer day when I can open the windows. Especially at dusk I enjoy the sounds:  the squeals of children playing, the rustle of leaves in the warm breeze or the orchestra of crickets. I can sit on my patio and listen to some smooth jazz as it drifts out the window from my sound system. Sometimes I’ll hear the exotic music of my Colombian neighbors as they enjoy the songs of their homeland. Once in a while the idyllic twilight is invaded by a passionate music lover driving through the neighborhood. The militant beat of mega woofers infiltrates the area until the offending car drives out of earshot. My ears readjust and go back to partaking of the sounds of the season.

Blog Habit #3: Broadcast Your Blog Post

If you are new to blogging, you may have the ‘Field of Dreams’ mindset I used to have: if you write it, they will come. You’ve crafted a wonderful blog post and now readers will line up to read your genius. Considering there are 200,000,000+ active blogs in the blogosphere, you need to give your blog baby a little help in letting your audience find you. Broadcasting your blog post on social media sets the stage for more interaction. The more people who know that your blog exists and that you offer valuable content means the more people who will potentially read and comment on your blog. Successful use of social media for broadcasting is two-fold: 1) making proper use of the social media tools available and 2) avoiding the mistake of becoming irritating noise that is filling social media today like the aforementioned car.

14 Actions To Amplify Your Blog’s Voice

The list of broadcast methods I’ve compiled are only some of the actions we can take to amplify our blog voice. Start with ones you are familiar with and establish a broadcast habit. After you are broadcasting with one or two consistently you can experiment with some of the other suggestions and expand your repertoire.

  1. Craft headlines for maximum effect. A well-crafted title draws a reader to check out what you’ve got to say. Short, snappy and on topic are best. If you want to learn to write good headlines, do a Google search on writing good headlines – there is lots of help out there. Let’s start off with some simple tips from the folks at WordPress: Are You Writing Rockin’ Blog Post Titles?
  2. Post a link to your blog with a well-crafted teaser once a day on Facebook and Google+. Multiple status posts all day long with the same ‘advertisement’ can get annoying to those reading it and they will eventually tune it out.
  3. Post a link 3-5x a day spaced throughout the day on Twitter. You can post a few times more on Twitter because its information stream moves faster than Facebook and Google+. Focus on those who might be interested in your blog subject with hashtags. Don’t know what hashtags are? Here’s a great post from social media guru Kristen Lamb to get you on track: Be A Tweep, Not A Tool-How Hashtags Can Win Friends and Influence Enemies (Note how Ms. Lamb rocks her headlines)
  4. Start an email newsletter for your subscribers. You can give a weekly round-up with links or offer exclusive content. Writer Jeff Goins has a good example of a successful blog newsletter. Check out Jeff Goins post How To Get Your Message Heard Without Adding To The Noise
  5. Create a YouTube channel for a change of pace to disseminate your information. Author  K.M. Weiland has been doing this successfully for about two years.
  6. Pin a Pinterest board with photos from your blog posts. Pinterest automatically links them back to your blog so people can follow the trail there.
  7. Join Triberr. Triberr is one of the newer social media platforms especially for bloggers. Jenny Hansen gives us the basics in her post My New Time-Saving Social Media BFF:Triberr
  8. Share posts with social bookmarking. Social bookmarking such as Digg, StumbleUpon and Reddit have been around for a while, yet many don’t quite get the benefits to using it. Read Problogger’s post Social Bookmarking – Getting Your Blog Noticed for some do’s and don’ts.
  9. Write a guest post. Guest posting is simply that: writing a post of original content for another blog. You expand your blog’s exposure by guest posting. How do you guest post? Connect with other bloggers in your niche and trade posts or find groups that encourage guest posts among its members. That’s part of the ‘social’ in social networking. Check out Blogger Linkup for a site that offers guest post opportunities.
  10. Create an email signature. You should have a link to your blog in your email and social media signatures, but don’t overdo it. Email signatures that are a mile long with every one of your social media addresses and links to all your book products are one of those irritating noisemakers that people end up tuning out because of overexposure. Be concise and choose your email signature information wisely.
  11. Practice SEO. Search Engine Optimization, or SEO is a process of using keywords that help rank your blog higher in Google and other search engine rankings. I haven’t experimented enough with SEO yet to give a personal opinion but if you’re interested I suggest this short SEO copywriting tutorial from Copyblogger.
  12. Post a link to your site from the comments section on other people’s blogs. This can raise your Google page rank but is walking the edge of blogging etiquette. Make sure the link is pertinent to the comment discussion and look for a blog comment policy to find out if the link is welcome. Multiple links in a blog comment give a spammy appearance and may get you banned from making comments on blogs. Jami Gold addresses this in her post How Tightly Do You Control Your Blog?
  13. Syndication. One of the most popular ways to syndicate your blog is through NetworkedBlogs on Facebook. This can give you more opportunity to find readers in Facebookland.
  14. Treat your blog as a ‘pay it forward’ vehicle. We’ll talk about this in detail in part 4 of this series next Monday.

Practice your consistency tips with broadcasting. Don’t think you have the time to do this? Steal the time you’re spending on unproductive social media (you know you are). You don’t think you spend any extra time doing unproductive activities? You never play Farmville, watch silly kitten trick videos on YouTube or obsessively check your Amazon stats or how many hits you’ve gotten on your blog? Hmm, you’re a stronger person than I, my friend. :)

Keep a use-journal for 3 days – literally write down every single social media thing you do and the time it takes to do it. You’ll get aggravated and probably throw it in the trash before the 3 days are up, but you’ll discover you do have the time for social media broadcasting to help increase your blog’s following.

If you’ve been enjoying this series, I hope you’ll consider subscribing to this blog in email, through RSS or just stick us in your Google Reader!

Question: Which of these broadcast methods work for you? Which ones haven’t? Do you use a method not listed? Tell us about it!

22 thoughts on “Sharpen Your Blogging Habits: 14 Actions to Take to Amplify Your Blog’s Voice

  1. Jami Gold

    Great suggestions, Kristin! And thanks for the link! :)

    I think the main reason blog owners don’t like commenters to include their blog link in the text of their comment (your #12 above) is because most commenting systems allow us to make our name clickable/linkable. So doing *another* link to our blog feels like overkill. I know some people who hate commenting on the default Blogger comment system because it *doesn’t* allow URL linking (it just links back to our Blogger profile, I think–or did that all change post-Google+? I don’t even know. :) )

    Self-linking in comments hasn’t bothered me too much because most people don’t do it, but as we can see from the comments on my post, others find it annoying. I think the one time I did delete someone’s blog link from their comment was when their comment was some generic “Great post! My name/my blog URL” comment. They weren’t adding anything to the conversation and their signature was longer than their comment. :)

    Reply
  2. kristin nador Post author

    Thanks for stopping by Jami! I love linking to your posts because you always have a great discussion going on at your blog. I don’t have a problem with a link in a comment as long as it contributes to the conversation and gives my readers more information to work with and I wish all commenters would have a clickable name so I can get to know them through their blogs. But when someone crams a bunch of unrelated links in their non-descript post, I’m going to have to protect my readers from it. I want them to enjoy their time here, not weed through all the self-promotion of others. I guess I have to put myself in the ‘self-linking is annoying camp’. :) Your blog post really made me consider my position on links in comments. I hadn’t really thought about it before then. Better to be proactive than reactive.

    Reply
  3. Jackie King

    I just yesterday (after church) learned about pininterest. Sounded great, but how do you manage all of these posts and still have time for your writing? (Perhaps my problem is that I need to be younger?)

    Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      That’s the big trick, Jackie. I would have to be honest and say since I have been focusing so much on my blog and doing research to help others with their blogs as well, my time spent on writing my WIP has suffered. I am cutting out some more activities I’m involved in to balance my time. Shifting the balance to have my writing be 2/3 WIP and 1/3 blog is my goal for 2012.

      As for Pinterest specifically, I think it’s a great way to get a creative spark, but if not kept in check could be a huge time suck. I have several pin boards to help me with my writing, but I only allow myself to get on for about an hour on Saturdays, otherwise I would spend hours looking through all the beautiful boards.

      You’re only as old as you think you are. I intend to think myself back to thirty. LOL Jackie, you are one of the most beautiful ‘young ladies’ I know. :)

      Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      Sometimes I remember back to when my children young and I don’t know how I had the energy to get everything I did done. Now I wish for half that energy just to get something done. ;)

      Reply
  4. Kate MacNicol

    Another great post Kristin. Now I need to plan when I’m going to read all these great links and do the social media exercise. I haven’t read Jenny’s post on Triberr yet ( I’ll go over there next while I still have time) but do you think it could simplify commenting on blogs and twitter? I’m a little afraid of using my fiction writing/ blog writing time getting caught up in a Triberr learning curve. I’m more than a little techno challenged.

    Reply
  5. Jenny Hansen

    Kristin, I LOVE this! And I’m so delighted to be included. I’m going to come back after I’m done with my work week (Wednesday) and find out what I’m NOT doing. :-)

    Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      Jenny, thanks so much for stopping by! I’m delighted to include you :) When you come back, maybe you can expand on Kate’s question whether Triberr has baggage for those of us who are less than tech-inclined. It’s sounds like such a great idea to combine so many of the social media steps into one and get connected with more bloggers at the same time. Inquiring minds want to know! :)

      Reply
  6. kristin nador Post author

    Kate, Triberr does sound like it has a little tech learning to it. I love the idea of bloggers promoting one another, but the idea of having to learn more tech stuff to do it does seem a little counter-productive. I am not a member, and like Pinterest, you have to get an invite, so I would suggest working on the less tech-intimidating social media and after you read the details of Jenny’s post (and read the comments, too – lots of good details covered) you can decide whether you want to invest time in learning Triberr.

    Reply
    1. Kate MacNicol

      I read Jenny’s post which was great and read the comments. I’m going to watch the video today. I have an invite from my WANA#711 friends and I love being involved in anything they’re involved in but still… I’m wondering if I’m setting myself up to spending even more time on social media and less on the WIP. I like your 2/3’s WIP and 1/3 blogging goal Kristin. I’m sorry to be a copycat but I’m going to adopt that one too. I’ll give you full credit if I happen to mention it on my blog :)

      Reply
      1. kristin nador Post author

        No troubles, Kate – copy away! :) That’s what it’s all about, helping each other find what works best for each individual and then going for it. Don’t be afraid to try what your WANA friends are encouraging you in, but if it’s going to eat up too much of your time, don’t be afraid to say you have to bow out. You know yourself best. Whatever you do, I’m sure you’re going to do great. :)

  7. Natalie Hartford

    Fantastic POST! Wow. You give us some GREAT avenues to explore to get our blog out there. A number I am doing but a number of them are new to me so I am PUMPED to explore some new stuff. FAB!!!

    Reply
  8. Nina Badzin

    Really helpful post. I think these are all great, though I really disagree with #12. Leaving a blatant link in a comment so that blog’s readers will move on feels very disingenuous.

    Reply
  9. kristin nador Post author

    Thanks for stopping by, Nina! I agree with you that leaving a bunch of blatant unrelated links in a comment is not good blog karma, thus my caveat listed underneath #12 that if you would even consider a link, make sure it relates to the subject being discussed and that the blog owner will allow it. Many newer bloggers don’t know this type of blog etiquette and that’s why I wanted to address it.

    However, if someone has a link to their blog in their comment/email signature, I don’t really see a problem with it, because it’s about the same as having your name ‘clickable’ in a blog comment that you make on someone else’s blog. That is part of social media strategy, connecting with others in blog discussions. I think it’s more about the intent. If a commenter is only making a comment to get lots of links on your blog, bad stuff. If what they post is contributing to the discussion or they are not savvy in the ways of blogging, a little leeway may be in order.

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Mind Sieve 1/23/12 « Gloria Oliver

  11. Pingback: Sharpen Your Blogging Habits: The Golden Rule For Bloggers | kristin nador writes anywhere

  12. Pingback: Former beauty queen sings for MADD Canada – Natalie Hartford

  13. Pingback: Sharpen Your Blogging Habits: Get Serious By Relaxing | kristin nador writes anywhere

  14. Pingback: Blogging for Success « Nita Beshear – Patchwork Living

Tell us what you think!

