Write Anywhere #32

It’s been a great adventure finding new and unusual places to create for these weekly Write Anywhere venues. I’ve been to an aquarium, a nature center, a labyrinth, and a skateboard park. I’ve written at a convent and an emergency room. It’s fun to go different places. It definitely fuels my creativity. But sometimes your week is crammed with busyness, and you have to catch a writing moment when you can. That’s what I did this week, with great results.

Write Anywhere #32: Under The Stars

"Silently one by one in the infinite meadows of heaven
Blossomed the stars, the forget-me-nots of angels." - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Did you know this week you could see the Moon, Venus and Jupiter in the night sky with the naked eye? I found out late Tuesday night and took my camera and notebook into the dark. I did my best to capture a decent photo.ย If you want to see some good photos of the phenomenon check out EarthSky’s Facebook Page.

I sat on the driveway and wrote by moonlight. It seemed secret and freeing and I got some good passages written. Then those giant mosquito-looking bugs started dive bombing me and spoiled the mood. But it was still fun. :)

Question: Where did you write this week?

4 thoughts on “Write Anywhere #32

  1. joeharwell

    The planetary alignment with the moon has been very inspiring this past couple of weeks. I’m writing no less than 3 historical fiction novels and the scenes in our night sky caused me to do some research on similar events in the 1960’s, 70’s, 80’s and 90’s for inclusion in at least one of the books.

    Reply
  2. kristin nador Post author

    That sounds interesting, Joe. There’s a lot of details to consider when you’re writing historical fiction, even how the universe was lining up on a certain day. :)

    Reply
  3. JudyStoneGoldman

    I wrote at the gym this week! Actually, my mind was doing the work, and when I realized where my mind was, I had to stop and get paper and pen. I didn’t really sit and write for a long time, but I jotted down the phrases that were coming to me, and later on I was able to use them.

    I think exercise really opens my mind and also distracts the conscious part of me that might get in the way. I probably ought to consider speaking into a recorder while on the treadmill some time.

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com
    Personal-Professional Balance Through Writing

    Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      That’s awesome, Judy! It’s great you took the time to capture those phrases. I know a lot of times I’ve been driving or involved in some other activity and an idea comes, and I convince myself when I stop the activity I’ll capture the idea, but it’s already floated away by then.

      I like that recorder idea. An added benefit might be if people see you talking to yourself, they may let you have the treadmill first. ;)

      Reply

Tell us what you think!

