Write Anywhere #48

by Kristin Nador/@KristinNador 

How are you doing on the Write Anywhere Challenge?

Were you able to make time for writing ‘someplace else’?

It’s a crazy busy digital world. Texts, phone calls, emails, tweets and statuses. Sometimes you just need a change of scenery. Slow down the pace. Keep calm and chat with friends. That’s what I did this week in a rather unique place.

Write Anywhere #48: Urban Homestead

The welcome committee gathers on the patio…

My friend lives in the city, but she is a fancier of fowl. And gardens. And DIY. To that end, she raises chicken, ducks, herbs and tomatoes. An offer of tomatoes and conversation found me surrounded by fragrant herbs, chimes and a comfortable patio area. My friend has fashioned a peaceful backyard retreat resplendent with a misting system and a kiddie pool to keep the critters cool in the extreme Oklahoma summer.

The chickens are fluffy, beautiful, and have a bit of sass and spice to their personalities. And it’s no wonder: their spice might come from the fact that besides eating their natural diet of grain and insects, they love nibbling on tortillas and cilantro.

Say hello to Peep

Sassy senorita

After chatting we stormed my friend’s sun-ravaged garden for some ripened tomatoes and hot peppers. Ginger and Mary Ann donated some eggs I got to enjoy later.

lovely red bounty

yum

Jimmy the Duck stormed my ankles. Seems he is a bit territorial.  So we danced through the garden together under the hot Tulsa sun.

Little Jimmy Dickens

The garden made this normally brown-thumbed lady long to grow something green and earthy. If only. I enjoyed my friend’s hospitality, got out of my regular element, and came home refreshed and ready to write.

Where did you write this week?

**Important News: Stay tuned to kristin nador writes anywhere for some exciting happenings that will revolve around the 1 year anniversary of Write Anywhere Fridays. Week #52 is coming up, and we’ll be having all kinds of fun with some virtual parties, and some giveaway surprises. I’ll also be making some announcements concerning new features to make our second year even more creative, informative and interactive. Make sure you’re subscribed in email or RSS so you don’t miss a thing and tell all your creative friends. The more the merrier! More details in the coming weeks.

4 thoughts on “Write Anywhere #48

  1. insideheathershead

    Hmm…I wonder where on earth you would find such a friend. Hee-hee.

    I LOVE the pics and love the peaceful syncopation of that small “farm” in the city. Sometimes we need to break free of our tied-to-Twitter lives and just breathe in the heady goodness of trees, plants, dirt, animals, and even the hot July sun.

    Thanks for sharing this with us today. It reminded me that I need to step away from me sometimes to truly find me again.

    Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      It was a really nice visit to catch up and I was enticed with tomatoes, of course. ;)I was excited to meet the famous Jimmy who I’ve heard so much about, too. And what a lovely patio area to catch up at.

      Reply

Tell us what you think!

