The Zen Of Slow Blogging

image courtesy Hiro2006, Creative Commons

image courtesy Hiro2006, Creative Commons

by Kristin Nador/@KristinNador

Remember the accomplishment you felt when you clicked ‘publish’ for your first blog post?

Blogging was exciting, a way to let your voice be heard, to share your expertise with others, let out the words simmering inside you, to build a community. You looked forward to writing more blog posts. Your mind fairly overflowed with writing ideas. You gobbled up all the blogging tips you could find from the ‘experts’. You dutifully followed a schedule and cranked out post after post, and shared your links on social media. You began to build a ‘following’.

Then something happened. Not right away, but little by little. You started to feel the pressure and stress of living up to your own schedule. You might have posted on your blog just because you ‘needed’ to, not because you really had something to say. You even wrote some things because ‘they’ said it was the way to get noticed. You started writing for search engines, and not for people, or worse, not for yourself.

You lost your blogging zen.

If your goal is become a professional blogger and have your blog be your sole source of income, then follow the big guns like Copyblogger and do as they advise.

But if your goals are more along the lines of connecting with those of like interests, sharing a specialized journey or even building a social media platform as an author, you might think about another strategy to get your blogging groove back.

Consider slow blogging.

What is slow blogging?

Slow Blogging is a rejection of immediacy. It is an affirmation that not all things worth reading are written quickly, and that many thoughts are best served after being fully baked and worded in an even temperament.

 - Todd Sieling

Slow blogging is putting the intentionality back into blogging by focusing on writing quality posts when you really have something to say. It gives your brain and your creativity breathing room.

Take your time. Think about what you want to say and how you want to say it. Short and pithy or long and in-depth. Or say nothing until you do. Take your time.

Be thoughtful. Be hilarious. Be provocative.

If that means posting less often, so be it. You’ll not only give yourself a break from the digital onslaught, but your readers as well.

Have you had to cut back on who you’re following just so you have time to, say, brush your teeth? You’re not alone.

Readers are getting burned out, too. They’re overwhelmed by the glut of information out there in the blogosphere. They’ll appreciate not having to choose to unfollow your blog because it’s clogging their email box daily. Many are paring down, simplifying their blog-reading habits.

Anne R. Allen has laid out what I think is the best case for slow blogging, particularly for writers:

“Of course some people can blog brilliantly every day. But I don’t know a lot who can sustain that pace AND write book-length narrative every day. So you’ve got to plan a blog that’s going to beat the odds. A slow blog is more likely to do that. Think marathon, not sprint: slow blog.”

Remember, you’re not the Huffington Post. You don’t have to be. You have a unique voice, and it’s okay if that voice is not droning on and on every single day. Anne calls it blather-blog.

Read Anne’s wonderful blog post The Slow Blog Manifesto… and 8 Reasons Why Slow Blogging Will Help Your Career, Your Love Life, and Protect You From Angry Elephants

Lots of great bloggers are embracing slow blogging. Check out some of their thoughts on the subject:

Even blogger gurus Michael Hyatt and Kristen Lamb are jumping on the bandwagon.

I am exploring slow blogging for several reasons: more time for my WIP, choosing what I give my energy to because of health issues, and I want to continue having fun with my blog instead of dreading it.

If you have the time to blog every day, still enjoy it and it’s not taking time away from your WIP, you should post at will. If you are completely stressed trying to come up with things to blog about or your WIP writing time is shrinking, maybe you should consider slow blogging. Slow and steady may win the race after all.

Related posts:

Question: Have you cut back on your blogging schedule? Are you considering it?

If you liked this, please share with your friends using the Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and other social sharing buttons below. Don’t miss a post – subscribe to kristin nador writes anywhere via email or RSS. Thanks for your support.

20 thoughts on “The Zen Of Slow Blogging

  1. Marcia

    I absolutely love that image, Kristin! I also, as you know, agree with this post wholeheartedly! I’m happy so many of us have broadcast this message. It can help so many stop feeling stressed and guilty about blogging. Thanks so much for the linky-love, my friend!

    Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      You’re welcome, Marcia. And yes to saying no to guilt. Isn’t it funny all the things that can make us feel guilty without reason? We don’t need to add blogging to that list. No guilt with slow blogging. :)

      Reply
  2. Debra Eve

    I’m a big fan of Anne and Marcia, and completely embrace slow blogging. I post about once a week, but not always. Thanks for spreading the word, Kristin! I agree with Marcia — we need to feed our creativity level, not our stress level.

    Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      Yes, I know as a reader I’ve had to pare down the blogs I follow several times for two reasons: sheer amount of time to keep up with blogs and not being able to squish any more information in my brain. We need to take knowledge in, but have time to ruminate on it as well if it’s going to be helpful to us.

      Reply
  3. Patty Bechtold

    In the end I think it’s all about balance, and anything that leaves us feeling stressed or full of “shoulds” is important to look at. Thanks much for writing this. Love the idea of slow blogging.

    Reply
  4. Steve Griffin

    Hey Kristin – totally agree with the idea of slow blogging! I think my head would explode if I committed to a daily or highly-frequent posting schedule. There’s no way I’d be able to keep a pace like that! A prolific writer, I am not! And I’m OK with that :)

    Great perspective on slow blogging….the concept has definitely got my vote!

    Reply
  5. Heather Jenkins

    I think one of the biggest hazards of “hard core blogging” and being a social media butterfly is burnout and lack of focus on what matters, what drew the person to blogging and networking to begin with. “They” (I’m still trying to figure out who they are) tell us to be a part of everything if we want a career in publishing. Well, it’s kind of hard to get published if we are too busy getting plugged in everywhere BUT our writing. I understand the importance of having a presence online, but the industry has morphed into something of a cart-before-the-horse picture…for me, anyway. I love the idea of slow blogging. I haven’t blogged at all for months partly because life happens, and partly because it’s overwhelming. Trying to keep up. Trying to stay plugged in. All of it. Slow blogging has a nice ring to it. Thanks, Kristin, for showing me that I don’t need to blog just to blog. I need to blog when and because I have something to say.

    Reply
  6. Kate MacNicol

    I’ve been slow blogging for a while although I didn’t know it had a name until I read Marcia’s post. Glad you’re on the slow blogging train too Kristin! I’m happy to scooch over and make room for you. You will not believe the difference it makes in your attitude, your writing and your creativity. Good for you! Thanks for the validating post.

    Reply
  7. Christy Farmer

    You know, Kristin—I’m so happy you mentioned reader burnout. Ever since I began my blog, I blogged once a week for that very reason. Now that I’m finishing a book with plans to start another after the New Year, I’m thinking about a once-a-month blog schedule.

    There are people I follow who do not post on their blogs often. Yet, I enjoy hearing from them when they do. I can also guarantee you I own every book or CD they’ve released because I know they put emphasis on great stories/ music over how frequent one blogs. ;-)

    Food for thought. ;-)

    Thank you so much for the mention, too. I’m flattered and hope you enjoy slow blogging and the holidays.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Friday Features #34 - yesenia vargas

  9. Pingback: Link Feast For Writers, vol. 33 – Theme Special | Reetta Raitanen's Blog

  10. Pingback: Blog on Blogging or Meta Blog. | This is my life…

  11. Pingback: 2013 « Steve Griffin

  12. Pingback: The Art of Slow Blogging. « Debbie-Johansson.com

Tell us what you think!

