Start Your Week Off Write: 7 Ways To Increase Creativity with Social Media Platform Pinterest

image, Creative Commons

Have you discovered Pinterest yet? Pinterest is a new social media that combines online social interaction with creativity and self-expression. The object of Pinterest is post or ‘pin’ visual images that you find interesting from the internet on ‘boards’ that you create, a digital bulletin board so to speak. It’s like the next level in bookmarking. You can make comments, ‘like’ images, repin them, and gather friends, so it has similarities to both Facebook and Twitter. The difference is the creative aspect.

Read an interview with the founder of Pinterest.

Artist Daughter first told me about it, and I have become a controlled Pinterest addict. Since my time margin continues to shrink as I add more activities to my schedule, I’ve limited my interaction on Pinterest to a few hours only on weekends. I know if I didn’t practice a controlled interaction, I’d spend way too much time on it. But I’ve found Pinterest beneficial to promote creativity, particularly for my writing. I’ve created boards for my book ideas, and found several images that evoke the characters and settings I have in mind. Yes, it can be another social media time suck, but used in a targeted way, it can energize your creativity. Here are 7 ways:

  1. Explore – Discover what other people have done with their Pinterest accounts for inspiration. Here’s a great example of a Pinterest account.
  2. Narrow your subject focus – Pinterest lets you categorize your boards so you can narrow the subject you want to explore. Some examples include food, architecture, DIY or fashion.
  3. Make motivational boards – Create a visual motivation for any dream or goal you have. I like this motivational board for writers.
  4. Storyboard your ideas – Writers can use Pinterest to their advantage to make storyboards for their writing ideas. Here’s one of my book storyboards.
  5. Check out recommendations – You can find recipes, book and product reviews and lots more.
  6. Network with like-minded people – It’s fun to find others who have your same interests, especially if it is a small niche.
  7. Broadcast your vision – Pinterest is another conduit to let others hear your voice. Edie Melson from The Write Conversation gives tips for bloggers to connect with the Pinterest audience.

By exposing yourself to the synergy of visual cues and the creative ideas of others, you can increase your own creativity quotient. Check out Pinterest, but be prepared to find a new obsession.

Question: Do you think Pinterest will become a standard social media like Facebook and Twitter, or will it be a passing fad?

8 thoughts on “Start Your Week Off Write: 7 Ways To Increase Creativity with Social Media Platform Pinterest

    1. kristin nador Post author

      You’re welcome, Amanda. At first I was very reluctant to check out Pinterest, as it just seemed like another way to waste a lot of time, especially if you’re like me and get easily distracted by shiny things :) All the pretty boards! But like all the social media, if you go in with specific goals and time limits, it can be enlightening and even fun. Hope to see you over there sometime. :)

      Reply
    1. kristin nador Post author

      It is fun, Valerie, and I find seeing what other people think is creative or inspiring very refreshing. It gets my own little brain spinning. And makes me want to learn all kinds of crafty skills, which I never will. I didn’t get one drop of crafty DNA. :)

      Reply
  1. Judy Stone-Goldman

    I haven’t heard of this at all–couldn’t imagine you had a big blobby typo in the title of this blog, so I read more and learned! I am not sure I dare venture into this. Do I want another social media outlet? I hear what you’re saying about its value, but I also fear not having enough discipline to carry me through. Of course I’m going to have to take a look because you’ve awoken my interest. Sigh… (But thanks :) )

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com
    Personal-Professional Balance Through Writing

    Reply
  2. Marcia

    AWE.SOME, Kristin! Great post. I signed up for Pinterest, but I’ve been so busy I don’t remember if i was accepted. Will have to go check. I thought it was an impressive idea, but didn’t think i’d have time for it. After seeing your story board and the other two examples, I think maybe i need to make to time for it. It looks like a fun way to connect with others and even more fun to post pictures! Thanks for this, you’ve gotten my imagination stirred up!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pinterest Alert: The New Pin Scam To Avoid | kristin nador writes anywhere

Tell us what you think!

